The Greatest Hero

I am going to tell you the story of how a young man saved humanity from the greatest threat it has ever seen. The young man, his name was Tolo. Tolo was a small man who lived in a house that was dug into the side of a hill. It was a very nice hole home, and anyone who came to the countryside and saw his home, knew exactly whose home it was. This future hero was to be met by the towns alchemist in the coming days. There had been some strange phenomenons happening around Tolo’s home and he wanted to find out what it was.

The story starts off when the alchemist reaches Tolo’s home.

*knock knock*

“Tolo, are ya home?!”

Tolo jumped up from his comfy couch and ran over to the door, but before reaching the door, fixed a doily. Finally, he reached and opened the door.

“Welcome alchemist. I’ve been needing your opinion on the strange happenings I’ve had around my house. I’ve been told that my home is cursed, but I don’t believe in superstitions.”

“Ahh, but superstitions bring about questions. These end up creating a thirst for knowledge.”

“True, although it’s all just a bunch of hog wash.”

“I agree. Anyway, I was told that some of your things have been moving without being touched. We haven’t had any earthquakes so I’m not sure why things would move. I will need to do some research on this place.” the alchemist turned away from Tolo

“That’s fine with me.” Tolo said as he began to turn and walk back into his home.

“I just want to know one thing, Tolo. Have you really found out a way to turn copper into gold?” The alchemist asked, not turning towards Tolo.

“You will have your answer if you help me with this mystery.”

The alchemist walked away, but he would be back. No alchemist can turn down the possible knowledge of changing one element into another. Tolo knew this, for he himself was an alchemist and a good one at that. He had dug a laboratory deep into the hill so that all of his research could be kept quiet. Transmuting elements was not something men needed to know how to do.

The next day, the alchemist came back, and this time, with a bunch of books. He and Tolo spent hours trying to analyze why things would move around randomly.They had read some fifteen different books on the strange happenings. It intrigued them that if they paid enough attention to an object, you could see the subtle movement of it. Though they hadn’t come to any conclusions about what might be happening, Tolo started to imagine small creatures moving his stuff around. This is when it all began, the realization that an alien invasion could be upon them. Because, indeed there were actual small beings moving stuff ever so slightly.

“Do you see what I’m seeing?” Tolo asked the alchemist.

“I don’t, but if you might have magnifying glass. I would be able to see it.”

“Yeah I do. I’ll be right back.” Tolo disappeared into his lab and came back rather quickly. He gave the alchemist the magnifying glass, and together they looked at the small creatures. The creatures looked rather frightened. They scattered behind objects.

“Those weren’t ants, were they?” Tolo asked the alchemist.

“No, they looked like small humans. I wonder if they’re afraid of us?” pondered the alchemist.

“It looked like they were, but I’m more curious about where they ran off to.”

The two began to look around the house to try to find the little guys. It turned out to be quite a feat since the creatures were so tiny. After hours and hours of diligent searching, Tolo noticed one and said, “I think I found one.” He tried to sneak up on it to try to catch it, but the creatures noticed him and scurried away in between a shelf and the wall. Tolo and the alchemist looked at each other amazed since the crack in between the shelf and the wall was smaller than the creature. They couldn’t figure out how he had gotten through, or even why.

“We need to get one of those creatures to find out why they are here.”

“I have an idea. I’ve gotta go.” the alchemist ran out of Tolo’s house almost before Tolo could turn around.

“Bye!” Tolo yelled.

Tolo stared at the wall where the creature went through and noticed a small crack. It was glowing, but ever so slightly. Upon noticing this, Tolo’s house shook. When Tolo looked back at the crack, it was no longer glowing. “What was that glowing?” he though.

The next the alchemist came knocking at Tolo’s door very earlier in the morning. A groggy Tolo answered the door to a tired yet excited alchemist.

“You have to see this!” exclaimed the alchemist.

“See what?”

“This.” The alchemist pulled out a bottle that resembled the glow from the wall.

“I’ve seen that before.”

“I saw it last night through the magnifying glass and remembered that I had been working on something that could give me eternal life. However, I would always appear in some strange place when I would drink it, and then wake back up on my floor. Maybe you should try it. You might have better luck.”

Tolo analyzed the weird-looking bottle, opened it up, and chugged it. The next thing he knew was that he was not in his house anymore, but instead, in some black and white place. Small creatures walked up to him. They looked like the same creatures that had been in his home.

“Were you just in my home?” Tolo asked.

“If you were that big scary creature, then yes. But, if you are the same large creature, why are you so small now and how did you get here?” one of the creatures asked him.

“I drank a bottle of glowing liquid.”

“Give us the glowing liquid and we won’t be back to your world.”

“Why should I?”

“Because the glowing liquid is merging our two universes together and if it continues, it is prophesied to be the end of both planets.”

“I don’t usually believe in prophecies, but because of this place. I’ll believe you.”  Tolo said and handed over the bottle of glowing liquid.

“Thank you!” the creature said.

Tolo then appeared laying on the ground in his home.

“Are you okay?” the alchemist asked.

“Yeah, I’m fine. Just don’t ever make that liquid again.”

“I won’t.”

The two talked a bit longer and Tolo kept up his end of the bargain and showed the alchemist how to transmute materials into other materials. Although the alchemist didn’t realize that he was just making pyrite, or fools gold. The alchemist left, Tolo went back to his lab, and humanity was saved. Until next time….

.

 

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

1 thought on “The Greatest Hero”

Leave a Reply

