A Night in Space

Looking at the stars is something that always makes me wonder what it must be like out in space. I’ve always wanted to go out there, but my parents tell me that I’m to young. They tell me that when I get older, I might be able to get a spaceship ride. For now however,  they told me that I am too small to ride on a spaceship safely. I am sixteen years old, I believe that if I am able to drive a vehicle, I should be able to be a passenger on a spaceship. My parents are just so old-fashioned.

Going to school, I asked my friends if they had ever been on a spaceship. They told me no, but they had heard of children much younger than us had been on one. I wasn’t sure if these were fictional or true stories that I was being told. But, I mean a kid must’ve been on a spaceship at least once in history. Knowing this, I got on the internet and searched “kids in space” and found countless stories of children with their parents in space. It was actually common on some planets, apparently the planets were so small that some things could only be found on other planets so they had to leave a lot.

I guess my planet is large enough that we don’t ever have to leave. I’ve never seen my parents go to the spaceport and leave, so I assume that our planet is good enough for them. I want to see the galaxy. There is so much out there that I have yet to experience, and even though I’m in high school, I want to experience as much as I can. The world seems to pass me by faster and faster, and I am afraid that if I don’t adventure now, I might never get the chance to. I need to get a ticket and see what outer space is like.

The next day, I told my parents that I was going over to my friend Sam’s place after I got off work. I probably would’ve told them that I was going to be gone for a couple of days, because I was going to the next planet over and then returning. I bought my ticket online. The trip was scheduled to take about five to six hours and delays weren’t likely. It was exciting to be doing something so daring. I called in for work, and didn’t go to Sam’s, instead Sam and I went to the Spaceport.

The whole building was packed full of people. Most of the people were adults in business suits, and there were children here too despite what my parents told me about going to space being dangerous. We went up to the desk and they gave us our tickets. I looked at Sam, and thought about what might happen if we get caught. Sam noticed that I was getting nervous, grabbed me by my shoulders and shook me. I snapped out of my worrying thoughts and we walked over to the line for our ship. We stood in line for what seemed like hours before we were able to get through security and to our spaceship.

Walking to our spaceship, I couldn’t believe how big it was. It carried hundreds of passengers, but I never imagined it would be this big. As we took off, the sun began to go down on my planet, and the takeoff made me flinch. High above my planet I could see its blue and green that makes the planet so beautiful. I’ve been told that my planet is one of the most beautiful planets in the galaxy, and now I know why people say that. It truly is awe-inspiring to see it in all of its glory. I looked at Sam to see if she was seeing what I was, but she was too busy looking at the menu trying to decide what to eat.

About an hour or so into the flight, the pilot came on over the PA system and told us that due to some technical difficulties. We had to turn back. Sam told me that she was kind of bummed because we didn’t make it to another planet, but I reminded her that we just wanted to go to space anyways. The other planet was just going to be an added bonus. When we got back to the spaceport, we got our refunds, and we left. Since it was still night-time and I had told my parents that I was staying at Sam’s, that’s exactly what I did. So in the end I didn’t lie to my parents after all, and I got to spend a night in space.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

3 thoughts on “A Night in Space”

Leave a Reply

