The Revolution

The Emperor is the sole leader of the supposed Earth Commonwealth. He parades himself around like he owns the galaxy, but he has no idea how his people suffer. He rules by terrorizing his people into submission. His agents quell the masses by assassinating anyone who dares to question his rule. Of course the media of Earth won’t tell you these things, they won’t even call him Emperor. They call him ‘President’ instead and pretend that there are checks and balances by having phonies pretend to be for the people. Really, however, they just vote for whatever the ‘President’ wants them to vote for.

I however, live here on Mars. My people know the truth. We know that the people of Earth have been brainwashed and we will come to help them against the tyranny of that awful man. Our media is one that tries its best to be unbiased and to just report the truth. I understand that sometimes biased things are said, but that’s because we are humans. Anyway, our President is actually a president and not someone who can do as he pleases. Our Senate is picked by the people of Mars and as such, they do the will of the people. I have heard talk that some of the people here on Mars want to liberate the Earthlings from their tyrannical ruler. I think I’ll join them. They’re in a bar from what I’ve heard.

Walking into the bar where the guys that talked about trying to start a revolution on Earth were. I noticed that the place was kind of run down and smelled of mildew. A few small insects scurried around on the floor. I was a bit unnerved, but I expected to see worse when I got to Earth. I walked over to the group of men who were dressed in tuxedo’s. They turned to me and one asked, “Who are you?”

I looked at him, smiled, and said, “I heard that you gentleman want to help Earth and I want to join you?”

“How did you find out about us?” another guy asked.

“I know a guy, who knows things.”

“What’s this guys name.”

“He goes by Jack.”

The group of guys looked at each other and smiled, “Alright you can join us if you’d like.”

I didn’t like how they smiled at each other before allowing me to join. It made me feel uncomfortable, but I joined them anyways.

“To catch you up on the details of what we are planning to do when we get to Earth, we simply want you to meet the people of Earth and gain their trust. Start out small and build your way up. We aren’t funded by the Martian government so we can’t have a full-scale war on Earth. But, causing riots might work.”

It was a flawed plan, but one that seemed like it could work on simple-minded people. I believed that these guys’ intuition is greater than my own so I’m going to trust them.

“We’re going to leave in approximately two days.”

The two days came and passed. I had gathered supplies for the long trip to Earth. Eager to help out with a cause that could change an entire planet for the better, I hurried to the spaceport. There I was told what spaceship to take and where to go when I got to Earth. Each person was sent to a separate location on Earth so that with each small riot, a larger revolution was coming to life.

Entering Earth’s atmosphere was really weird, and it made me light-headed. I looked outside and could only feel sympathy for the people who lived on this poor planet. There lives must be awful having to live oppressed by their government. We finally landed, and I expected to see tanks and armed soldiers everywhere. But, when I exited the spaceship, none of that was around. There were guards with tasers, but that was the extent of their weaponry. Walking into the spaceport I saw a lot of people in suits with briefcases. ‘They must be government officials.’ I thought. I stood in line and filled out paperwork before leaving the building. My mission was about to start.

Earth was different from what I was expecting. On the news back on Mars, it seemed like everyone would be in single-file lines and soldiers would be everywhere. What I was seeing was a place that was, for the most part chaotic, but not a bad chaotic. Just a normal chaotic that you normally see in cities. ‘This must be just this area. It has to be a facade, a ruse to make newcomers think everything is fine.’

I decided to travel around the city I was in. The signs say that I am in Dallas. Everywhere I turn people seem to be hurrying to get where they need to go. Remembering that I have a mission to do, I headed to a bar. I found a decent bar in downtown Dallas. It was nicer than what I’m used to seeing. The place was filled with cigarette smoke, like usual, and everyone seemed kind of glum. I walked over to the bartender and asked for the special. He brought it to me, and I started talking to him. I brought up the government and the ‘President’ of Earth and what he thought about them. He said that he didn’t like politics and as far as he could tell, most people didn’t like the President. At least not around in this area.

I thanked him for his time and tipped him. I got up and walked around. I started talking to some older guys in the bar. I asked them similar questions that I had asked the bartender. In an uproar, they started talking about how corrupt the government was and especially how terrible the ‘President’ was. I brought up the idea of starting a revolution. They looked at me and laughed.

“We don’t need to start killing people. We’ll just vote for someone else in a couple of years to be president.” One of the men said.

This made me start thinking that this place wasn’t as bad of as I had thought. Curious if this was the consensus all over the city, I traveled to other bars. For the most part, everyone agreed. Some even revered the ‘President’ as a great human being. My thoughts about the mission started to wane. Maybe I wasn’t cutout for this type of thing. Part of me even wants to move here. It’s kind of nice here. Everyone’s been nice to me, much nicer than they were on Mars. Maybe I will move here permanently and become a citizen of Earth…

It’s been a couple of weeks now since we landed on Earth. I wonder how the other people did on their endeavors to start a revolution. I haven’t seen anything on the news. It feels like a mistake to have tried to start something so drastic. I mean I’ve fallen in love with this planet and it’s people. So I guess this was a failed revolution then… But, we’ll see.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

2 thoughts on “The Revolution”

Leave a Reply

