The Park Letter

“Come to Labor Park at 5:30 p.m. and don’t be late.” The letter said. I found it when I got home from work, it was stuck between the screen door and door frame. I didn’t live in a good neighborhood, so these kinds of things were something that usually terrified me. However, the park was in a safe area and the time wasn’t too late. I decided that since I didn’t have anything else going on, why not.

I am a construction worker, so I just got off work at five o’clock. Whoever it is who sent me this must’ve known that I was building something not far from home and had to have time to make it to the park before five thirty. This is making me curious about who it might be  that put the letter in my door. I don’t even change out of my sweaty and dirty work clothes, I just slam the door and hop in my car to drive to Labor Park.

I pull up to the park and check the time “5:29” I made it, but I have no idea where to meet in Labor Park. All they told me was to be here. Five thirty hits and out of nowhere a loud bang goes off. I duck and fall to the ground thinking I was getting shot at, but I notice that people start running over to me. Wondering if I had been shot, I look at myself to find that I am in fact not bleeding. Well that’s good and all, but why are people surrounding me? Are they here to attack me? Wait a minute. I recognize some of these people. “Happy Birthday!” Everyone shouts. One of the guys in crowd grabs for my hand, pulls me up, and asks, “Seems like we scared you?”.

“You didn’t scare me. I never get scared.” I joked.

“You didn’t piss yourself did ya?”

“I hope not.” We both laughed and he handed me a beer.

Loud music was played and everyone had enjoyed themselves. All was well until the cops showed up. They told us to leave for disturbing the peace. My friend that helped me up talks to the police and tells them its just a birthday party. He couldn’t reason with them and we were forced to go back to his place. The party had dispersed and only a handful of my closest friends remained. We played poker and blackjack for hours. I what was a great birthday! I’m glad I got that letter.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

