Going Underground

“I can hardly breathe!” Thomas whispered loudly, “It’s so musty in here.”

“What do you expect, we’re in a cave for crying out loud.”

“Yeah, but I didn’t expect it to be this musty.”

“Well get used to it, because we’re going to be down here for awhile.”

“Did we get lost or something?”

“We fell down a hole in the ground what do you expect?”

Hi, my name is Franklin and my friend Thomas and I got stuck in a cave. You might be asking yourself, ‘Gee Franklin how did you manage to do that.’ Well if you’d like to know the whole story goes something like this.

Thomas and I were walking home from class. We go to college and we have a night class together. We’re also roommates so it works out that we’d walk home together. It’s actually a relaxing time when we walk home because on nights like tonight, the weather is perfect. Well, as we were walking home we see this crack in the ground.

Thomas turns to me and says, “Franklin, how much do you wanna bet that crack leads somewhere.”

I looked at and smirked, “It’s not going to anywhere, it only exists because it’s so dry this time of year. Thomas then proceeds to walk over to the crack and jumps on it. Now Thomas is a decent sized fellow, but I never would have expected him to fall through the earth like that, and I never thought that the crack would open up big enough to make me fall into it with him.

Well, now we’re here and I have no idea how to get out. We only fell like seven feet onto soft wet ground, so we weren’t harmed, but nobody is around to hear us and we can’t climb out because we aren’t very tall. So we decided to try to find our way out. We use the flashlights we have on our key chains to get around.

“Hey what’s that?” Thomas asks shining his flashlight on the cave wall on something that looks like a ladder.

“I don’t know, but we should check it out.” I say feeling very hopeful.

We run over to the ladder and begin to climb up it and notice that the top has a door. I decide to open it. I climbed out into the middle of some random houses back yard.

“Hey, Thomas we need to get out of here quick. So hurry up and climb up so we can leave.”

“Will do, man.”

He climbs out and we leave, hopping over the houses fence and sprinting as fast as we can back to our apartment. I have never felt so happy to feel to cool breeze of the air or to see the streetlights. We had only been underground for a couple of hours, but it sucked being down there.

“We made it home!” I shouted.

“Shhh! you’ll wake the neighbors” Thomas said with a grin on his face.

Time to get nights rest.

 

 

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

