Tough Decisions

I can’t seem to find the right words to say to you this time. I hope I can figure out what to say before it’s too late. Tomorrow might be the last time I see you . It’s really hard to think that, having lived through so much, you might just leave me on this dusty plane. You don’t have to tell me what your thinking, because I can see it in your eyes. You don’t want me to worry about you, because your strong and you will make it through. But, alas it doesn’t quell the fear of losing you.

The doctor said that if we want to increase your chances of living, that we’d need to try out a procedure that is still being studied. After pondering the thought of losing you and the chance that it might just work, I decided to give it a go.

They told me that they would have to do the procedure tonight, since they didn’t think that you would last throughout the night. I decided to wait in the lobby for you hoping that you would pull through. Knowing that you were strong enough to pull through. After two agonizingly long hours the doctor opened the door to the lobby and looked at me, with tears in his eyes. I knew immediately that something had gone terribly wrong. He walked over to me, gave me a hug and told me that you didn’t make it. Trying to make me feel better he told me that I had made the right decision.

I can’t help but feel guilty for putting you through that surgery. Well, at least you lived a long life and you can finally rest near that tree you loved so much. You remember right? The one you used to run around as a pup? Those were the days. Gosh, I’m gonna miss you buddy. You were the best damn dog anyone could ask for. Rest in piece Old Blue.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

