Trip to Wichita

20160525_144348

The drive through Wichita was relatively easy to do. The traffic was light and construction was minimal. My only problem was the fact that it was my first time driving through this city. I was not expecting the turnpike tolls everywhere on the interstate. I felt like I was in Tulsa or something. It was actually pretty scary. Traveling through  I noticed the skyline. Nothing impressive but the architecture was pretty very fun and interesting to stare at.

Walking around Wichita’s downtown, I noticed a bunch of people sitting on the sidewalk. As I walked further down the street I saw a building that must have been a soup kitchen because it had a sign out front that said it served free meals everyday. The people were friendly, but I tried not to seem like a tourist. Mainly because I hate looking like one even though in my home city I sometimes look like one anyway. My favorite part of the trip was walking into the Museum of World Treasures and going to the third floor just to walk in on some sort of meeting.

Inside the museum I saw a mummy and it felt like it was staring at my, as if it were staring at my soul. The rest of the museum was great, but after the mummy exhibit visit. I couldn’t shake the thought that something was following me. I decided to stop a restaurant on my way back to my car, when I heard a sound. Screams followed and I turned around. A mummy was walking towards my, slowly walking, but walking nonetheless. I ran out of the store and towards my car. It was hard to slip away from the mummy, but I got too complacent it always seemed to come and find me.

I ran back to my car, jumped in and blasted the A.C. The day had been extremely hot and I needed to cool off very badly. After heading off I kept wondering if this is how the zombie apocalypse would start. A cursed mummy escaping from a museum and infecting the surrounding cities and people. Although I didn’t and don’t intend to go back to Wichita after that incident, but I decided to check my pockets to make sure I had everything. As it turns out, I did not have my wallet. I looked down to see that I didn’t have enough gas to get to my bank.

In other words I had to go back to the mummy infested city of Wichita. Trying to remember where I left my wallet, I decided that it would be the best thing to start with the last place that I was at in Wichita. Which was the restaurant. Walking into the now almost completely abandoned restaurant, I found workers still working and a seemingly distraught mummy sitting at the bar. I asked one of the workers if they had seen a wallet and told me that the mummy at the bar had been trying to give me my wallet back, and that he still had it. I hesitantly walked over to the mummy and tapped him on the shoulder. It turned and gave me my wallet immediately turning back to continue drinking.

Seeing how upset the thing must be since everyone has been running away from it, I decided to sit and get some drinks with the mummy. As it turns out, the mummy was 2,700 years old and was just wanting to do a good deed by returning. It had heard from tourists that the stereotype of mummy’s was to kill people and wanted to break that stereotype by giving me my wallet back. The mummy was a really cool undead corpse. I learned that day that you should not judge a book by its cover, even if it is a mythical creature.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

