The Man on the Roof

“Can we keep him?” she asks me.

“I don’t know if it would be in your best interest.”

“But he’s so cute.” she says, looking at me with her puppy dog face.

“You know it wouldn’t be a good idea. You’re allergic.”

“I know…”

We left the pet store and the hamster that she wanted so badly, but not before she persuaded me into getting her a goldfish. I told her that it was her responsibility to keep it fed and to clean the the fish bowl. She said okay.

Walking into our house, I notice something is off. Something is always off walking into this house ever since my wife died. But, today it seems a little more off. It was like someone or something was in our house.

“Hey, what’s wrong dad?”

“Stay in the car. I think something might be in the house.”

I open the car door and slowly open the front door. I tiptoe through the house looking all around me and turning on every switch I find. Our house is pretty big and empty. The dark corners kept me on my toes as I checked them. Even though I couldn’t find anything, I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was there.

*Honk! Honk!*

I ran outside to see my daughter in the car and with quick smile at her, I quickly realized why she honked the horn. Looking up at the roof I saw a man sitting there.

“Hey!” he said. “How’s it going?”

“I’m calling the cops!” I yelled at him.

“You wouldn’t want to do that.”

“And why’s that?”

“Because I’m not real!”

I look at my daughter, walk over to her and point up at the man.

“Do you see that man up there?

“That’s why I h0nked at you.”

“Alright I’m calling the cops.”

We wait around for the cops for a couple of minutes and when they come I point at the man and tell them to arrest him. They look at me weirdly even though the man was still on the roof, sitting on the edge.

“They can’t see me because I’m just a figment of your imagination!”

I was starting to believe. Am i crazy? Or is he just playing with my head? Are the cops in on it?

The cop tells me that nobody is there and that he wants to take me to the station for questioning. They are going to take my daughter too since there is no other guardian around. As they take me into the station, I notice a quick smile on the police officers face as he sits me down for questioning.

“Did you not see that man sitting on the roof?”

“There wasn’t anybody sitting on the roof, it was probably your subconscious dealing with the fact that you killed your wife and you are going away for a long time!”

“I didn’t kill my wife.”

“Backup searched your house and found a journal with all of the details on how you did it. We also found the weapons used. We found your wife’s killer and it was you!”

I was taken to my cell in complete shock and my daughter was taken to her grandmother’s house. Who was that man on the roof that ruined my life?

 

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

