The Dreamer

“I want to go to space! I want to go to the moon! I want to be the first man on Mars!”

These are the things that people seem to dream about and I just don’t get it. Why would you want to go so far away from home if all that you’re going to get from it is homesickness and a little bit of awe. In reality the only reason people want to do these things is for their own egos. That way, if they were to do these things, then they would be able to brag about it. That’s what I think anyway.

Five days a week I go to school to learn more and more about the world around me. Both physical and theoretical. Why must we learn about all of these things if one day we will all just die and wither away. Everything is meaningless, your dreams, memories, friends. It all will disappear eventually.

Despite all of these things, I have a dream. Now, my dream is not some amazing and famous thing like being the most famous actor or being an NFL Quarterback. No, my dream is to live a successful life and have no regrets when I lay down on my death bed. I dream of helping to create a world that is much better than the world that I was born into.

My grandfather was the biggest inspiration to me. He was a man that taught me everything from manners and proper etiquette, to playing baseball. When he died of cancer, I spent many years trying to figure out why such a good man should have to go. That’s when I realized that nothing ever lasts forever and that you have to take hold of what you have and do your best with it. The world will try and take things from you and you just have to do your best with what you have.

Little by little, my world changes and molds into what I want it to become. It’s not a grandiose plan in order to change the entire world. But, I firmly believe that as long as I can do my part where I am at, then I can help to change the world as a whole. My dream of becoming a better person and hopefully creating a better world because of it is nothing but a pipe dream unless I do something about it. I realize that my living in the middle of a small town in Nebraska won’t do a whole lot on the world seen, but what I do here might contribute to at least this community.

My other dream is to work a job that feels meaningful to me and pays my bills while still putting money back for later. That job will help me to benefit the community and world around me in many ways. Because, if I’m happy, then I can make others happy. And happiness, if only just for a moment, can change the world. That’s my dream.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

