Strange New World

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt the breeze of fresh air hitting my golden tan skin. I’ve been locked away inside that metal prison for far too long and all I can think of is how nice it is to be out of there.

“Welcome to your new home everyone!” says captain Abbey. “We have finally found a planet that is suitable for us to call home.”

Earth had become too dangerous for humans to live on. People were dying as soon as they left their homes, or so the legends go… And that’s what the news stations were reporting as the lucky people made it to one of the many GAIA Ships. I personally don’t remember that since I was so young. However, my family and I were outside and I didn’t die. Well at least I didn’t  anyway. My parents did. My dad died shortly after I was born while my mother died of injuries she sustained trying to get me aboard the ship.

We were adrift in space for 15 years before we found this planet that captain Abbey says is the closest thing to Earth that we’re going to find.

“We are going to have to start farming and cultivating this planet if we are to survive. The sooner we start doing this, the better.”

The air seems so fresh, not quite the way I remember the razor like winds back on Earth. It kind of hurt. But, this wind is gentle. It’s nice. I was told that humans had destroyed Earth and inevitably made it uninhabitable for us to continue living there. I hope that we don’t make the same mistakes on this planet that we made on Earth.

“What’s the name of this planet?” I asked the captain.

“We are calling it Gaia after the name of the ship that we used to get here.” the captain explained. “Come on people we need to get to farming and building houses ASAP!”

The scariest thing about moving somewhere that you don’t know anything about, is that you’re not sure what kinds of things might live there. They fear of something lurking in the shadows, watching your every move is a very scary thought. The forests here have such tall trees and the shadows are everywhere around us.

“It’s getting dark, everyone back on the ship for the night!” Abbey called out. “We will resume construction in the morning.”

Darkness descended on the planet for the first time since we arrived and it was beautiful. The forest lit up from glowing plant life and from insects flying around. The research party went out to conduct experiments to get a better understanding of the world that’s around us.

The world outside, although scary. Seemed calm and so peaceful, while in the ship it seems chaotic. People are running around yelling out orders to get supplies around  the ship and to get ready for tomorrow’s tasks. Children are screaming and crying. This realization makes me afraid that we might destroy the beautiful serenity that this world enjoys.

Tomorrow I will go out and break my fear of the shadows in the forest. I will find out what makes this planet seem so peaceful.

I awoke today to a strange sound coming through my window. It was a bird singing and it surprised me to see a bird on this planet. According to the researchers, this planet has much wildlife that is similar to what used to exist back on Earth.

I decided to go out into the forest just as the researchers had done last night. I just need to find out what is out there for myself.

Walking into the forest is really intimidating with the tall trees and with it being so dark. With bugs flying around everywhere, the fresh air in here almost seems fresher than back around the ship. Monkey-like creatures swinging from tree to tree.

I walked deeper into the forest to satisfy my need for adventure. I got quite far into the forest when I started to hear a load roaring noise. As I got closer to the noise I saw water flowing quickly, so I followed it to a point where it fell off a cliff. The view from the cliff was amazing, The tops of the trees were visible for as far as my eyes could see.

Heading back I noticed that things definitely started to change. Darkness brought with it a scary sense of danger. I started to run, but tripped over a tree root that protruded from the ground. Looking around the trees seemed to grow faces. Fearing for my life, I jumped back on my feet and continued to run as fast as I could, making sure I didn’t trip on another root.

Finally escaping from the forest, I entered the ship to find only a handful of people there. Apparently others had gone into the forest just like me, thought they hadn’t returned like me. This is definitely a strange new world.

 

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

