The Decay

The gray misty skies seem like the norm ever since The Decay began. That’s what my teachers at school call it anyway. My parents actually died during the event, however I survived because I was rescued by the dean of the boarding school that I attend. This decay was not of the Earth, it was however a decay of the human civilization. Mother Nature had begun reclaiming her domain from us.

I live in the city of Ectopolis at the Sampson’s School for boys. It was created to help children such as myself be able to survive in this anti-human world. The weapons that we had previously used to kill each other, are almost useless when combating plants.

I know that you’re probably thinking about napalm and flamethrowers and pesticides. Well these plants have evolved to so that pesticides no longer work on them. However, fire still does work even though they usually put them out with fluids they secrete, or use the flames against us by swinging around and dropping flaming leaves on us.

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you that our city is surrounded by a wall and the ground is covered in cement. Trees and grass are a thing of the passed for us, although we grow genetically altered vegetables just like we’ve been doing for centuries. No ones sure what caused the new anti-human plants to exist. All we know is that when the asteroid hit, the Decay started.
Legends say that the asteroid is like a castle surrounded by the largest and most powerful plants in the world. These plants have tainted the plants around the world and caused them attack humans and destroy all of our creations.

The dean told me that my parents died a noble death, protecting me from the plants that surrounded us. When he showed up, he told me that the plants were salivating on my bald white head as I cried. I was still an infant at this time and the dean was most likely using a weapon similar to what we’ve been training with. These weapons are plasma rifles that burn through anything and burn the green earth.

The reason that we use plasma rifles to destroy the plants has to do with the fact that they can’t deal with the super heated blasts and today we are going to test out the plasma cannon. This is going to be so much fun. This cannon is going to be used to decimate large areas of tainted plant growth. We are going to shoot it off of Kento Peak, which is the tallest peak in our region. If it works out, then we are going to try out building a plasma missile to destroy even more plants at a single time.

….IT WORKED!!!! The plants were completely eradicated from the face of our planet! Time will only tell when we finally reclaim this planet as ours! Our next mission is to create a missile to destroy the asteroid with…

…. What’s this?! Where did all these plants come from!? They’ve destroyed the cannon! How can this be!? It’s time for a tactical retreat, the dean says. I guess things aren’t always as easy as they seem. Just remember, you damn plants! WE WILL TAKE BACK WHAT IS OURS!

A mysterious voice echoed through my head saying that this is their planet and it always has been. They are just reclaiming it from us.

Are we the invaders? I don’t care at this point, they killed my parents and I cannot forgive them for that. I will fight them as long as I can, and I will never surrender!

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

