Indian Territory

Shadows loomed above us in prairies of Indian Territory. The ‘mountains’ around us were the ones casting the shadows on us. The grass was a golden brown color and crunched under our horses hooves. The day was relatively warm and the wind blew less often than usual. A bison crossed my path so I pulled my Winchester rifle around and aimed down the sight. Everything got silent and I felt an itch on my trigger finger, “Achoo!”, I fired and missed the buffalo. I turned around, “You just had to sneeze as I was pulling the trigger didn’t you?”

“Sorry, but I needed to sneeze. I was told once that its bad to hold a sneeze in.” Caleb said.

“Well if it is, its not worse than not getting to eat today!” I yelled.

“I’m sure we’ll find another bison before sunset.” Caleb said enthusiastically.

“You better hope so.”

We continued across the prairie in our hopes of finding another bison and the wind was getting colder as the day went along. With the sun going down, my friend and I stopped to make camp. Caleb was a scrawny kid with wavy brown hair. He wasn’t the brightest star in the sky, but he was quick on his feet and had good aim too.

We set up a campfire and I put my bag down so that I could use the bag as a pillow. I pulled out a piece of paper and started drawing the layout of the area around me as I saw it. I consider myself as an amateur cartographer. I’ve been exploring these parts in order to be the first to fully map this portion of the world. The bison was to be our meal for tonight, but Caleb isn’t the greatest at being subtle. Next time, I’m just going to let him take the shot.

The next morning came around and I could hear my stomach growling.

“I guess it’s time to start hunting again.” I said a little snarky.

“Alright, this time I’ll try not to sneeze.” said Caleb.

I threw him the gun “This time you are going to be the one to shoot.” I told him, and his face beamed with happiness. Caleb loved guns.

After a couple of hours of searching for a bison to eat and me mapping the area, we found a bison. Unlucky for us, the natives were close to the bison. Caleb took aim and shot the bison without hesitation.

“What do you think you’re doing?!” I yelled.

“I’m getting us supper.”

“Do you not see those natives?”

“Oh! I do now.”

The natives started running away screaming and yelling.

“Well I guess that worked out in the end.” I said.

“Yeah, lets get this thing ready to eat!” said Caleb enthusiastically.

Caleb got the bison and prepared the animal for eating. I got the campfire ready. We sat down and ate until we were full and happy. Our happiness was short lived however, when we heard a yelling and chanting around us. I put my right hand on my revolver and Caleb grabbed his Winchester. The natives came out of what seemed like thin air.

“What are you doing in our lands.” said what seemed like the chief.

“I’m mapping these lands because they have never been mapped before.” I said nervously.

“Please, leave our lands now or suffer the consequences of trespassing.” the chief warned.

We agreed to leave, but while we were leaving I noticed that some of the natives had guns just like ours. Which made me wonder why they didn’t just shoot the bison like we did. However, they followed us out of Indian Territory with them pointed at us.

Wow, Indian Territory sure can be a scary place sometimes. Good thing I mapped it before we left though.

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

