The Dark

It was a cold night in the concrete jungle that I call my home. I had just gotten off work and was heading to meet my friends at the nearby coffee shop. Usually I walk down 1st street and then turn down Jefferson Avenue to get to my destination of fun and conversation. Tonight however, I decided that cutting through some of the alleys would get me destination even faster. Now that everything is all said and done I’m not so sure it was a good idea, but who am I to decide.

As I walked down the alley in between 1st and 2nd street, I came across a gold necklace that was just laying on the ground. On the necklace was a symbol that looked like something Norse related. I decided that I could probably sell it and get a lot of money from it, so I went ahead and took it without a second thought. When I reached the end of the tunnel, I noticed that there wasn’t a living soul in sight. Actually, there weren’t even cars or bikes or anything like that lying around. Everyone and every mode of transportation had just vanished into thin air.

I shivered not only because of the fact that it was cold, but because of the realization that I might actually be the last person on Earth. Realizing that this must’ve happened because of the necklace, I looked at it to analyze the symbol that was on it. The symbol was of half a tree. Realizing what this might mean, I dropped the necklace and everything came back instantly. The people, the cars, bikes, and even stray animals all appeared instantly before my eyes. I looked back down at the gold item and decided that it would a good idea to keep it just in case so I put it in my coat pocket and went on my way.

I finally made it to the coffee shop and met up with my friends like usual, except this time I had something special to tell them about. Or maybe I will just keep it to myself. I mean it’s not like they’d believe me anyway, right? So I tucked the necklace deep into my pocket and didn’t take it out until I got to my apartment. I put the necklace it my dresser and the next thing I know, my dresser disappears. Not the best idea I suppose. It will still be cool when I find it, right? Maybe?

Author: themesretro

Hi, what's up name is Tryep/ Themesretro. I write stories that are possibly mythical, but you'll never know. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a Reply

